VA 5th grade Writing SOL – planning to write a fiction/fantasy story


The VA Department of Education has released the 44 prompts. As I sort through them, I notice 3 KINDS: ones that require the writer to write an essay response; ones that require the writer to write a small moment, personal narrative; and ones that require the writer to write a STORY, often including fantasy elements.

Here is how a writer can PLAN to write a STORY. A story map can be used to plan it. Lots of details are included so the reader can see the story as if it is a movie in their mind.

Prompt: Imagine that one day you wake up and are invisible.
Write to describe where you go and what you do.

Story Map Plan:

Character:           Sally, who really wants to be a Tech Cub.
(pick character name and descide what the character wants.)
Setting:                She’s a 5th grader at school
(name WHERE this story will take place)
Problem:              She is shy and afraid to ask to be a Tech Cub because she doesn’t think she knows enough about technology to join the group.
(name the problem)
Events:     She wakes up one day invisible.
(name the events that occur)
She goes to the meeting of the tech cubs being invisible and listens in
Mrs. Burk says, “I want to remind everyone. You do NOT need any special skills to be in this club.
You just need to be responsible, show up when needed, and be able to ask when you are confused. I am here to answer your questions and I will ensure that you will be able to do all that is needed to perform any Tech Cub task”
Solution:  After school, Sally went to Mrs. Burk and asked if there was still time to sign up to be a Tech Cub. Yes,” she replied. “But tomorrow is the deadline. You’ve missed just one meeting and I can catch you up on what you missed.
(name how the story is resolved)
Possible Opening Sentence to the story:
 Seeing the Wanted:Tech Cubs sign hanging outside of the Computer office, 5th grader Sally wondered if she was smart enough to join this group. “Probably not,” she thought to herself. However, she loved computers. How cool to be in a Computer Club.
Possible Concluding Sentence: 
Sally rushed home with the permission slip. “Boy, am I lucky to have spent a day being invisible,” she thought. I might have chickened out and not signed up to be in this great club. 

20 thoughts on “VA 5th grade Writing SOL – planning to write a fiction/fantasy story

  1. I find irresistible the way to become skilled at all the way through this way and I crave to thank the admin because he/she did a finicky job over here. The content helps me a lot to act by workings. I highly recommend this blog site. my blog

    Like

  2. Oh! Fabulous post. Truly this site is exceptionally geared up to lend a hand for all regarding this. I got scarcely any imperative helps from here and dreadfully recommended it. Absolutely I will be recognizable with my relatives and relevant competitors concerning this blog and will linger for more. Thanks a lot……. IT outsourcing

    Like

  3. First of all thanks for the post. Really it is awesome post. I do like your hard workings and appreciate your concept. I can refer you another site where one can get huge assistances concerning education. To learn moiré, please click here. Thanks…… Managed Services

    Like

  4. I adore the way to be taught from end to end this way and I wish for to thank the admin because he/she did a good job over here. The content helps me a lot to accomplish by workings. I highly recommend this blog site. IT outsourcing

    Like

  5. Oh! Fabulous post. Truly this site is exceptionally geared up to lend a hand for all regarding this. I got scarcely any imperative helps from here and dreadfully recommended it. Absolutely I will be recognizable with my relatives and relevant competitors concerning this blog and will linger for more. Thanks a lot……. Managed Services

    Like

  6. First of all thanks for the post. Really it is awesome post. I do like your hard workings and appreciate your concept. I can refer you another site where one can get huge assistances concerning education. To learn moiré, please click here. Thanks…… Outsourced IT

    Like

  7. I adore the way to be taught from end to end this way and I wish for to thank the admin because he/she did a good job over here. The content helps me a lot to accomplish by workings. I highly recommend this blog site. kids writing

    Like

Leave a comment