Using Checklist with On-Demand

I saw this on TWITTER:

@garycally: Day 1: give the on demand: Day 2: give them back, with the check list and have them set goals. @tarantoannie #tcrwp” love this!

 Then I tried it myself. I wrote. I picked a small moment from when I traveled to Chicago.

Then I read the 3rd grade Personal Narrative Checklist for 3rd grade from the Writing Pathway book and jotted it down into my notebook. I just included Structure and Development skills as I am pretty confident in my writing conventions.

 Then I reread my on-demand and annotated it to show the things I did do as I wrote my small moment using colored markers:

Finally, I listed my strengths and I listed the things I still need to work on – my goals!!

I LIKE this process!!! I plan to follow it with MY students as I begin teaching Writing Workshop in 3rd grade this year.


9 thoughts on “Using Checklist with On-Demand

  1. Doing this was the beginning of my transformation into a better writing teacher. When I put myself through what my kids go through, I felt I had so much more to share with them and better ability to support them. thanks for sharing your process. It's so good to see other's thinking.

    Like

  2. Hmm, I am writing more and sharing my work and process, but I have not put my writing through the checklist. I feel like I know where I would land, but it is a great idea to do it all for real! I look forward to trying this out.

    Like

  3. Hmm, I am writing more and sharing my work and process, but I have not put my writing through the checklist. I feel like I know where I would land, but it is a great idea to do it all for real! I look forward to trying this out.

    Like

  4. I'm glad you blogged about this step by step because while I write weekly for my SOL, it is writing like I ask my kids to write that really terrifies me! I think it's time to step off the cliff again. Thanks for showing me the way.

    Like

  5. It took me a while to feel comfortable but you are right – at first it does feel like jumping off a cliff – but just at first. Now it is FUN! Keep writing. For me I started writing about the sports I played as a child – the time I was nervous swimming backstroke and afraid I'd hit my head at the end of the race and the time I played 1st base in softball (hey, batter, batter!”)
    Keep Writing!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

